Congratulations to all the 2019 winners

We’re already planning the 2020 event as we speak. Check back here for the latest updates.

This Year’s Judges

This year’s judges have been selected to represent as many aspects of Eastbourne’s rich fabric of society as possible. We are extremely grateful to them for giving up their time and offering their deep insight into the Eastbourne and district community.


Jake has twice represented the Labour Party as their parliamentary candidate in the town and teaches history at Hailsham Community College.

Jake Lambert


As Chief Executive at the Eastbourne Chamber of Commerce Christina Ewbank, representing and lobbying on behalf of the town's business community, most recently fighting to bring the Southern Rail strikes to an end.

Christina Ewbank


Tony Freebody has worked in the NHS for 23 years supporting adults with learning disabilities. He is the leader of the Conservative Group on Eastbourne Borough Council and in his spare time enjoys marathon running.

Cllr Tony Freebody


Gill Mattock, former Mayor of Eastbourne. Now Eastbourne’s Walking Champion. When Gill became a Councillor in 2007 one of her ambitions was to introduce a walking Festival, it took 6 years but in 2013 it was started and it is going from strength to strength.

Gill Mattock